The adoption of the Convention for the Prevention and Punishment of Terrorism by the League of Nations in 1937 marked the entrance of terrorism in the field of international law. The present-day international legal framework for the prevention and combatting of terrorism started in the 1960’s with the adoption of the 1963 Convention on Offences and certain other Acts committed on Board Aircraft. This framework now consists of various treaties and protocols relating to specific categories of terrorist acts.
Acts of terror have been around for some time. How long exactly, is the subject of academic debate and revolves not in the least around the question how terrorism is defined. The adoption of the Convention for the Prevention and Punishment of Terrorism by the League of Nations in 1937 marked its entrance in the field of international law. The present-day international legal framework for the prevention and combatting of terror started in the 1960’s with the adoption of the 1963 Convention on Offences and certain other Acts committed on Board Aircraft. This framework now consists of various multilateral treaties and protocols relating to specific categories of terrorist acts as well as several regional conventions on international terrorism in general. However, a comprehensive multilateral convention on terrorist acts is still lacking. This is mainly due to the continuing lack of agreement within the United Nations on a common definition.
This Guide is intended as a starting point for research on Terrorism. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library's subject headings (keywords) xxx are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.
Sources of international law
- Addicott, J.F., Terrorism Law: Materials, Cases, Comments (7th ed.), Tucson, AZ, Lawyers & Judges, 2014.
- Cherif Bassiouni, M. (ed.), International Terrorism: Multilateral Conventions (1937-2001), Ardsley, NY, Transnational Publishers, 2001.
- Cherif Bassiouni, M. (ed.), International Terrorism: A Compilation of U.N. Documents 1972-2001 (2 vols), Ardsley, NY, Transnational Publishers, 2002.
- Elagab, O., and Elagab, J. (eds.), International Law Documents Relating to Terrorism, London, Routledge-Cavendish, 2007.
- Europol, European Union Terrorism Situation and Trend Report, 2014.
- Friedlander, R. A. and others (eds.), Terrorism : Documents of International and Local Control, Dobbs Ferry, Oceana Publications, 1979 <2014>.
- Saul, B. (ed.), Terrorism, Oxford, Hart, 2012.
- Van den Herik, L., and Schrijver, N., Leiden Policy Recommendations on Counter-terrorism and International Law, Leiden University, 2010.
UN Declarations and Resolutions
- Bates, E.S. (et al.) (eds.), Terrorism and International Law: Accountability, Remedies, and Reform, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2011.
- Bianchi, A. and Naqvi, Y., International Humanitarian Law and Terrorism, Oxford, Hart, 2011.
- Bianchi, A. and Keller, A. (eds.), Counterterrorism: Democracy's Challenge, Oxford, Hart, 2008.
- Hoffman, B., Inside Terrorism, New York, NY, Columbia University Press, 2017.
- Martin, J.C., Les règles internationales relatives à la lutte contre le terrorisme, Bruxelles, Bruylant, 2006.
- Salinas de Frías, A.M., Samuel, K.L.H., and White, N.D. (eds.), Counter-Terrorism: International Law and Practice, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2012.
- Saul, B. (ed.), Research Handbook on International Law and Terrorism, Cheltenham, Edward Elgar, 2014.
- Walker, C., Terrorism and the Law, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2011.
Selected books and articles
- Badde-Revue, M. and M. Ruffo de Calabre, Ethics in counter-terrorism, Leiden, Brill Nijhoff, 2018.
- Bayefsky, A.F. and L.R. Blank, Incitement to terrorism, Leiden, Brill Nijhoff, 2018.
- Chermak, S.M, and Freilich, J.D. (eds.), Transnational Terrorism, Farnham, Ashgate, 2013.
- Choi, S.-W., ‘Does Restrictive Immigration Policy Reduce Terrorism in Western Democracies?’ Perspectives on Terrorism, 12 (2018) No. 4, pp. 14-25. [PDF]
- Combs, C.C., Terrorism in the Twenty-First Century (7th ed.), Boston, MA, Pearson, 2013.
- Duffy, H., The ‘War on Terror’ and the Framework of International Law, (2nd ed.), Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2015.
- Gal-Or, N., “The Formation of a Customary International Crime: Global Terrorism Human (In)Security”, International Criminal Law Review, 15 (2015), No. 4, pp. 665-699.
- Hamm, M.S., and R.F.J. Spaaij, The Age of Lone Wolf Terrorism, New York, Columbia University Press, 2017.
- Hanhimäki, J.M., and Blumenau, B. (eds.), An International History of Terrorism: Western and Non-Western Experiences, London, Routledge, 2013.
- Hegemann, H., International Counterterrorism Bureaucracies in the United Nations and the European Union, Baden-Baden, Nomos, 2014.
- Herik, L. van den, and Schrijver, N. (eds.), Counter-Terrorism Strategies in a Fragmented International Legal Order: Meeting the Challenges, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2013.
- Kouroutakis, A., “Islamic Terrorism: The Legal Impact of the Freedom of Religion in the United States and Europe”, Boston University International Law Journal, 34 (2016), No. 1, pp. 113-148.
- Roach, K. (ed.), Comparative Counter-Terrorism Law, New York, Cambridge University Press, 2015.
- Ryder, N., The Financial War on Terror: A Review of Counter-Terrorist Financing Strategies Since 2001, London, Routledge, 2015.
- El-Said, H., New Approaches to Countering Terrorism: Designing and Evaluating Counter Radicalization and De-Radicalization Programs, Houndmills, Palgrave Macmillan, 2015.
- Saul, B., Defining Terrorism in International Law, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2006.
- Saul, B., “Old and New Terrorist Threats: What Form Will They Take and How Will States Respond?”, in M. Cherif Bassiouni, Globalization and Its Impact on the Future of Human Rights and International Criminal Justice, Cambridge, Intersentia, 2015, pp. 281-307.
- Weimann, G., Terrorism in Cyberspace: The Next Generation, Washington D.C., Woodrow Wilson Center Press, 2015.
Periodicals, serial publications
- Behavioral Sciences of Terrorism and Political Aggression
- Combating Terrorism Center Sentinal
- Critical Studies on Terrorism
- International Journal of Cyber Warfare and Terrorism
- International Studies on Terrorism
- Journal for Deradicalization
- Journal of Terrorism Research
- Perspectives on Terrorism
- Studies in Conflict and Terrorism
- Terrorism: An International Journal
- Terrorism and Political Violence
- Terrorism Monitor
- Kost, I., and Thyssen, H., "Terrorism and International Law: Selected Bibliography", in M.J. Glennon and S. Sur (eds.), Terrorism and International Law, Leiden, Nijhoff, 2008, pp. 699-784.
- Price, E., "Bibliography on Single Issue Terrorism", Perspectives on Terrorism, 8 (2014), No. 6.
- Price, E., “Bibliography: Foreign Fighters of Terrorism”, Perspectives on Terrorism, 9 (2015), No. 1.
- Tinnes, J., "Bibliography: Terrorism and the Media (including the Internet)(Part 2)", Perspectives on Terrorism, 8 (2014), No. 6.
- Tinnes, J., "Literature on Terrorism and the Media (including the Internet): An Extensive Bibliography”, Perspectives on Terrorism, 7 (2013), No. 1.