International Family Law

Abstract

International Family Law describes all family law matters with an international element. People are residing internationally and experiencing international relationships more frequently. The closest link to determine which national family law rules are applicable to specific family matters is the residence (domicilie) of the parties concerned. Family matters include marriage, divorce, maintenance obligations, spouses, inter-country adoption, lineage, inheritance etc.

Text

International Family Law describes all family law matters with an international element. People are increasingly mobile, living outside their country of origin and experiencing international relationships more frequently. In such cross border situations the rules of international family law determine jurisdiction and the aplicable family law. The closest link to determine which national family law rules are applicable to specific family matters is the habitual residence or domicile of the parties concerned. Family matters include marriage, divorce, maintenance obligations, spouses, inter-country adoption, lineage, inheritance etc.

This Research Guide provides a starting point for research on the International Family Law. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library's subject heading (keyword) International Family Law is instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

Librarian’s choice
Publication
Gray, J., Party Autonomy in EU Private International Law. Choice of Court and Choice of Law in Family Matters and Succession, 2021
This book focuses on the concept of party autonomy in cross-border family matters and succession in EU private international law. It analyses the choice of court and choice of law provisions that has been developed within this framework over the past two decades.
Bibliography manually

Sources of international law

Treaties

Case-law

The EUPILLAR database provides case law on the Brussels I (Brussels I Recast), Brussels IIa, Maintenance, Rome I and Rome II Regulations and the Maintenance Protocol in the Court of Justice of the European Union and in Belgium, Germany, England and Wales, Italy, Poland, Scotland and Spain from the entry into force of the Brussels I Regulation on 1 March 2002.

Soft law

Reference works

Selected books and articles

Periodicals, serial publications

Bibliographies

Encyclopedias