INTRODUCTION
Today sports have an increasing influence within society and commerce. Major sports events like the Olympic Games and the FIFA World Cup are watched by billions of people around the world, causing a social and economic impact globally. International sports federations (ISFs) govern and control international sport. They cannot be regulated by national courts or governments. In Sports Law a distinction has to be made between global sports law and international sports law and sports-related national law. Examples of Lex Sportiva are the FIFA Regulations governing International Matches and the IOC Code of Ethics.
The role of the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS), seated in Lausanne, is more important than ever. The CAS routinely decides on the most important disputes stemming from international sporting competitions and their organisation. The very public controversies over international transfers in football, anti-doping bans, or sporting governance are usually played out on its playground.
This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on Sports Law. It provides the basic materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library's subject heading (keyword) Sport is instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.
LIBRARIAN'S CHOICE
SELECTIVE BIBLIOGRAPHY
Sources
Treaties
- Convention on the Manipulation of Sports Competitions (the Macolin Convention) (Council of Europe) [18 September 2014]
- European Sport Charter 2001
- UNESCO Charter of Physical Education and Sports (21 November 1978)
Case-law
- Anderson, J. (ed.), Leading Cases in Sports Law, The Hague, Asser, 2013.
- Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) case law
- Patocchi, P.M. and M. Scherer (gen. eds.), J.E. Brown, A. Werlen, A. Vallélian and D. Durante (ass.eds.), The Swiss International Sports Arbitration Reports, Huntington, NY, JurisNet, 2012.
- Peter, H. (ed.), Arbitration in the America's Cup: the XXXI America's Cup Abitration Panel and its decisions, The Hague, Kluwer Law International, 2003. [e-book]
- Peter, H. (ed.), The 32nd America's Cup Jury and its decisions, Alphen aan den Rijn, Kluwer Law International, 2009.
- Peter, H., Hamish, R. and McKenzie, G (eds.), The 33rd America's Cup: Judicial and Arbitral Decisions, Alphen aan den Rijn, Kluwer Law International, 2012.
- Peter, H., (ed.), Dispute resolution in the 34th America's Cup, Alphen aan den Rijn, Kluwer Law International, 2016.
- Reeb (ed.),Digest of CAS Awards = Recueil des sentences du TAS, Volume 1, 1986-1998, Berne, Stæmpfli, 1998.
- Reeb (ed.),Digest of CAS Awards = Recueil des sentences du TAS, Volume 2, 1998-2000, Berne, Stæmpfli, 2002.
- Reeb (ed.),Digest of CAS Awards = Recueil des sentences du TAS, Volume 3, 2001-2003, Berne, Stæmpfli, 2004.
- Weger, F. de, The Jurisprudence of the FIFA Dispute Resolution Chamber, The Hague, T.M.C. Asser Press, 2016.
- Wild, A., CAS and Football: Landmark Cases, The Hague, Asser, 2012.
UN Declarations and Resolutions
- UNGA Resolution 71/160: Sport as a means to promote education, health, development and peace [16 December 2016]
- UNGA: Strengthening the global framework for leveraging sport for development and peace (Report of the Secretary General) [14 August 2018]
Soft law
- Basic Documents of International Sports Organisations by R. Siekmann and J. Soek, Kluwer Law International, 1998.
- FIFA Statutes
- IOC Documents
Reference works
- Anderson, J., Sports Law: A Concise Introduction, Cheltenham, Edward Elgar Publishing, 2023.
- Anderson, J., Parrish, R. and B. Borja García (eds.), Research Handbook on EU Sports Law and Policy, Cheltenham, Edward Elgar Publishing, 2018.
- Blackshaw, I., International Sports Law: an introductory guide, The Hague, Asser Press, 2017.
- Diakité, A., La mise en Œuvre du Code Mondial Antidopage par les états, Bruxelles, Bruylant, 2023.
- Duval, A., Krüger, A. and J. Lindholm (eds.), European Roots of the Lex Sportiva : How Europe Rules Global Sport, Swedish Studies in European Law, Volume 18, Oxford, Hart Publishing, 2024.
- Karaquillo, J-P., Droit international du sport, Recueil des Cours 309, La Haye : Académie de droit international de La Haye, 2006.
- Latty, F., La "Lex sportiva": recherche sur le droit transnational, Leiden, Nijhoff, 2007. [e-book]
- Mavromati, D. and Reeb, M, The Code of the Court of Arbitration for Sport: Commentary, Cases and Materials, Alphen aan den Rijn, Wolters Kluwer, Law & Business, 2015. [e-book]
- Nafziger, J.A.R. and Gauthier, R. (eds.), Handbook on International Sports Law, Second edition, Edgar Elgar Publishing, 2022.
- Scherrer, U., Muresan, R. and Ludwig, K., Sportrecht: eine Begriffserläuterung, Zürich, Orell Füssli Verlag, 2014.
- Wax, A., Internationales Sportrecht : unter besonderer Berücksichtigung des Sportvölkerrechts, Berlin : Duncker & Humblot, 2009.
- Wenner, L.A. (ed.), The Oxford Handbook of Sport and Society, Oxford, OUP, 2023.
Recent books and peer-reviewed articles
- Appermont, N. and Bull, W., Professional Football and Anti-Money Laundering: Assessment of the Application of the Belgian Anti-Money Laundering Legal Framework to Professional Football, Cambridge, United Kingdom, Intersentia, 2023.
- Axer, L.F., Beweisanforderungen in der internationalen Sportschiedsgerichtsbarkeit vor dem Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS): unter besonderer Beachtung des Nachweises von Doping, Baden-Baden, Nomos, 2021.
- Bareuther, M.-C.R.D., Transparenz in der internationalen Sportschiedsgerichtsbarkeit: zur Öffentlichkeit von Verfahren und Entscheidungen des Court of Arbitration for Sport, Berlin, Peter Lang, 2021.
- Bareuther, M.-C.R.D., Transparenz in der internationalen Sportschiedsgerichtsbarkeit: zur Öffentlichkeit von Verfahren und Entscheidungen des Court of Arbitration for Sport, Berlin, Peter Lang, 2021.
- Böhm, F., Zulassung und Teilnahme an Olympischen und Paralympischen Spielen als Rechtsproblem: vor dem Hintergrund der Suspendierung eines Nationalen Olympischen oder Paralympischen Komitees, 1. Auflage, Baden-Baden, Nomos, 2022.
- Burlamaqui, L.G., (translated by J. Ellis-Guardiola), The Making of a Global FIFA: Cold War Politics and the Rise of João Havelange to the FIFA Presidency, Berlin, Boston, De Gruyter Oldenbourg, 2023.
- Cherkeh, R.T., C. Momsen and J.F. Orth (eds.), Handbuch Sportstrafrecht, München, Beck, 2021.
- Göbel, T., Verbandliche Mechanismen zur Nachwuchsförderung im Fußballsport: Kartellrechtliche und grundfreiheitliche Perspektive auf Ausbildungskompensationen und Mindestkontingente im professionellen Clubfußball, Baden-Baden, Nomos, 2024.
- Hardie, M., Governing the Society of Competition: Cycling, Doping and the Law, Oxford, New York, Hart, 2020.
- Heerdt, D., Blurred lines of responsibility and accountability: Human rights abuses at Mega-Sporting Events, Mortsel, Intersentia, 2021.
- Hessert, B., Sports Investigations Law and the ECHR: Collection, Use, and Exchange of Intelligence, Abingdon, Oxon, New York, NY, Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2023.
- Höfling, L., Host City Contracts auf dem Prüfstand der kartellrechtlichen Missbrauchskontrolle, Baden-Baden, Nomos, 2023.
- Hoven, E. and Kubiciel, M., Das Gesetz gegen Doping im Sport in der Praxis - eine Evaluierung, Baden-Baden, Nomos, 2021.
- Hülskötter, T., Die (Un-)Wirksamkeit von Schiedsvereinbarungen im Berufssport, Berlin, Duncker & Humblot, 2020.
- Joosten, J., Die Selbstbelastungsfreiheit bei der Bekämpfung des Dopings, Berlin, Duncker & Humblot, 2024.
- Kamara, M. et Bertrand, J.-B., Le contentieux international du transfert des joueurs: football et autres sports collectifs, Nouvelle édition revue et augmentée, Paris, L'Harmattan, 2020.
- König, M. und Mitterecker, J., (Hg.), Praxishandbuch des österreichischen Sportrechts, Wien, Facultas, 2022.
- Kornbeck, J. (ed.), EU Antitrust Law and Sport Governance: The Next Frontier? London, New York, Routledge, 2023.
- Kornbeck, J. (ed.), Sport and Brexit: Regulatory Challenges and Legacies, London, New York, Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2022.
- Liébana Ortiz, J.R., Justicia deportiva internacional: el procedimiento ante el Tribunal de Arbitraje Deportivo, Barcelona, Atelier, 2021.
- Loon, A. van, Sport und Kartellrecht: Reformen der Fußballverbände auf dem Prüfstand, Köln, Carl Heymanns Verlag, 2023.
- López López, I., Las relaciones entre el derecho de la competencia europeo y el deporte, Primera edición, Cizur Menor (Navarra), Aranzadi Thomson Reuters, 2023.
- Möller, C.R., Lex Sportiva: zur Verfassung der transnationalen Dopingregulierung, Tübingen, Mohr Siebeck, 2022.
- Opfermann, G., Schiedsvereinbarungen zum CAS: Eine Untersuchung aus der Perspektive des Kartellrechts, Tübingen, Mohr Siebeck, 2021.
- Ortega Burgos, E. and García Caba, M.M., (dirs.), Derecho deportivo, Valencia, Tirant lo Blanch, 2022.
- Pérez Triviño, J.L. et al. (eds.), El Arbitraje En El TAS: Funcionamiento, Procedimiento Y Cuestiones Prácticas Más Relevantes, Thomson Reuters Aranzadi, 2021.
- Preuss, H. and C. Schallhorn, N. Schütte (ed.), Olympic Sport Organisations in Times of Crisis and Change: Guide for Strategic Management and Good Governance, Baden-Baden, Academia, 2022.
- Putzier, K.R., Kartellrechtliche Anforderungen an private Rechtssysteme im Sport, Berlin, Duncker & Humblot, 2022.
- Romero Matute, Y., El Arbitraje Internacional Deportivo: La Acción de Nulidad, El Reconocimiento Y La Ejecución de Los Laudos Arbitrales Del CAS/TAS, Cizur Menor, Aranzadi, 2023.
- Sloot, B. van der, Paun, M. and Leenes, R., Athletes’ Human Rights and the Fight Against Doping: A Study of the European Legal Framework, The Hague, Asser Press, 2020.
- Spalding, A.B., A new megasport legacy: host-country human rights and anti-corruption reforms, New York, Oxford University Press, 2022.
- Ventura, V.H., Estudos de Direito do Desporto, Coimbra, Almedina, 2023.
For all peer-reviewed articles in the PPL Discovery catalogue, click here.
Periodicals, serial publications
- ASSER International sports law Series
- Beiträge zum Sportrecht, (Berlin, Duncker & Humblot)
- CAS Bulletin
- Causa Sport : die Sport-Zeitschrift für nationales und internationales Recht sowie für Wirtschaft
- Entertainment and Sports Law Journal
- Florida Entertainment and Sports Law Review
- International Sports Law Journal
- International Sports Law Review
- Journal of Legal Aspects of Sport
- Schriftenreihe Causa Sport
- Schriften zum Sportrecht (Baden-Baden, Nomos)
- Yearbook of international sports law
Bibliographies
DATABASES
EXTERNAL LINKS
- Asser International Sports Law Blog
- Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS)
- Enlarged Partial Agreement on Sport (Council of Europe)
- FIFA Legal Portal
- Marquette University Law School: National Sports Law Institute (USA)
- Sport and the EU Treaties
- The International Centre for Sports Studies (CIES), Neuchatel, Switzerland
- The International Sports Law Centre at the T.M.C. Asser Institute
INTERNAL LINKS