INTRODUCTION
Human Rights are basic rights and freedoms that every human being is entitled to, irrespective of his or her nationality, sex, religion, national or ethnic origin, language, sexual orientation, place of residence or any other status. Each person is equally entitled to these rights without discrimination. Human Rights are therefore considered to be universal rights. These include the right to life and liberty, freedom of thought and expression, the right to education, the right to food as well as economic, social and cultural rights. Human Rights are often expressed and ensured by law in the form of national legislation, international treaties, customary international law, general principles and other sources of international law. Human Rights entail both rights and obligations. States assume obligations and duties under international law to respect, to protect and to fulfill human rights. The obligation to protect requires States to protect individuals and groups against fundamental rights abuses. At the individual level, each person should also respect the individual rights of others.
This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research in the field of Human Rights. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library's subject headings (keywords) Human Rights, Group Rights, Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, Civil and Political Rights, Women's Rights, Children's Rights, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Rights, Economic Rights, Constitutional Rights, Cultural Rights, and Social Rights are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.
SELECTIVE BIBLIOGRAPHY
Sources of international law
Treaties
- Bisset, A. (ed.), Blackstone's International Human Rights Documents, Twelfth Edition, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2020.
- Council of Europe, Handbook on European Law Relating to the Rights of the Child, 2015.
- El-Khoury, N., Irrational Human Rights? : An Examination of International Human Rights Treaties, Leiden, Brill Nijhoff, 2021.
- Fennell, S. and D. Andoni (eds.), The African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights: Basic Documents, Oisterwijk, Wolf Legal Publishers, 2014.
- Goodwin-Gill, (ed.), Brownlie's Documents on Human Rights, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2010.
- Heyns, C. and M. Killander (eds.), Compendium of Key Human Rights Documents of the African Union, Pretoria, Pretoria University Law Press, 2013
- Kempen, van, P.H.P.H.M.C., International and Regional Human Rights Documents, Nijmegen, Wolf Legal Publishers, 2010
- MacDonald QC, A., The Rights of the Child: Annotated Materials, Bristol, Jordan Publishing Limited, 2015.
- Malekian, F. and K. Nordlöf, Confessing the International Rights of Children: The Basic Documents with Analysis, Newcastle upon Tyne, Cambridge Scholars, 2012.
- Mares, R., Business and Human Rights: a Compilation of Documents, Leiden, Nijhoff, 2004
- Marks, S., Health and Human rights: Basic International Documents, Boston, MA : François-Xavier Bagnoud Center for Health and Human Rights, Harvard School of Public Health, 2006
- Murray, R., The African Charter on Human and People's Rights : A Commentary, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2019.
- Quinn, F. (ed.), Selected Human Rights Documents for the New Independent States and Central Europe, Den Bosch, BookWorld Publications, 2001
- Redondo, María Belén. 2020. Tratados Internacionales de Derechos Humanos Comentados. Rosario, República Argentina: Juris.
- Smith, R., Core Documents on European and International Human Rights, Basingstoke, Palgrave Macmillan, 2012.
- Varennes, De F. (ed.), Asia-Pacific Human Rights Documents and Resources, The Hague, Nijhoff, 1998-2000
- Wolf, van der, W., C. Tofan and D. de Ruiter (eds.), Human Rights and HIV/AIDS: Selected Documents, The Hague, International Courts Association, 2011.
- Uwazuruike, A., Human Rights under the African Charter, Cham, Palgrave Macmillan, 2020.
Case-law
- Bogdandy, A. von, et al. (eds.), The Impact of the Inter-American Human Rights System: Transformations on the Ground, New York, Oxford University Press, 2024.
- Bugorgue-Larsen, L., and Úbeda de Torres, A., The Inter-American Court of Human Rights. Case-law and Commentary, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2011. [E-book].
- Burbano Herrera, C., Provisional Measures in the Case Law of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights, Antwerp, Intersentia, 2010.
- Corte Interamericana de Derechos Humanos, European Court of Human Rights, Council of Europe, Dialogue Across the Atlantic. Selected Case-law of the European and Inter-American Human Rights Courts, Oisterwijk, Wolf Legal Publishers, 2015.
- Council of Europe, Freedom of Expression in Europe. Case-law Concerning Article 10 of the European Convention on Human Rights, Strasbourg, Council of Europe Publishing, 2007.
- Doebbler, C.F., International Human Rights Law. Cases and Materials, Washington, DC, CD Pub., 2004.
- Fenton-Glynn, C.,Children and the European Court of Human Rights, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2021.
- Gerards, J. and J.W.A. Fleuren (eds.), Implementation of the European Convention on Human Rights and of the Judgments of the ECtHR in National Case-law. A Comparative Analysis, Cambridge, United Kingdom, Intersentia, 2014.
- Haeck, Y., O. Ruiz-Chiriboga, and C. Burbano Herrera (eds.), The Inter-American Court of Human Rights. Theory and Practice, Present and Future, Cambridge, Intersentia, 2015.
- McBride, J., Human Rights and Criminal Procedure. The Case Law of the European Court of Human Rights, Strasbourg, Council of Europe Publishing, 2018.
- Phan, H.D., A Selective Approach to Establishing a Human Rights Mechanism in Southeast Asia. The Case for a Southeast Asian Court of Human Rights, Leiden, Brill, 2012.
- Salinas de Frías, A., Counter-terrorism and Human Rights in the Case Law of the European Court of Human Rights, Strasbourg, Council of Europe Publishing, 2012.
- Salvia, M. de, The Compendium of the European Convention on Human rights. The Leading Principles in the Strasbourg Case-Law. Vol. 1.: Jurisprudence 1960-2002, Kehl am Rhein, N.P. Engel Verlag, 2004.
- Schutter, O. de, International Human Rights Law; Cases, Materials, Commentary, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2014.
- Šikuta, J., and E. Hubálková, European Court of Human Rights. Case-law of the Grand-chamber 1998-2006, The Hague, T.M.C. Asser Press, 2007.
- Villiger, M.E., Handbuch der Europäischen Menschenrechtskonvention (EMRK): mit besonderer Berücksichtigung der Rechtsprechung des Europäischen Gerichtshofs für Menschenrechte in Schweizer Fällen, Baden-Baden, Nomos, Zürich Schulthess, Wien, Verlag Österreich, 2020.
UN Declarations and Resolutions
The resolutions and decisions of the United Nations General Assembly and Security Council may provide valuable information on human rights. Although they cannot themselves constitute international law or serve as conclusive evidence of a rule of customary law, such resolutions do have value in providing evidence of existing or emerging law. This point of view has been acknowledged by the International Law Commission.
As every Member State has been recognized and has a vote in the UN General Assembly, finding General Assembly resolutions that passed unanimously or near-unanimously may serve as an excellent starting point in the legal research process. Pay attention to the language of the resolution. Those with firm obligations versus those that are merely aspirational or advisory in nature are more likely to be considered valuable as evidence of customary international law.
→ Official Document System Search. ODS is the UN's Official Document System. You can search for UN declarations, resolutions and other documents by keywords, then narrow your search.
→ Start Your Research: (7) Resolutions and Decisions of International Organizations.
Soft law
Reference works
- Bantekas, I. and L. Oette, International Human Rights Law and Practice, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2016.
- Benedek, W., Menschenrechte Verstehen: Handbuch zur Menschenrechtsbildung, Berlin, Berliner Wissenschafts-Verlag (BWV), 2017.
- Binder, C. (et al.) (eds.), Elgar Encyclopedia of Human Rights, Cheltenham, Elgar, 2021.
- Buergenthal, T., D. Shelton and D.P. Stewart, International Human Rights in a Nutshell, St. Paul, West, 2009.
- Cushman, Th. (ed.), Handbook of Human Rights, London, Routledge, 2012.
- Fellmeth, A.X., Paradigms of International Human Rights Law, New York, Oxford University Press, 2016.
- Fernandez de Casadevante Romani (ed.), C., Derecho Internacional de los Derechos Humanos, Dilex S.L., 2011.
- Fernandez Liesa, C., El Derecho Internacional de los Derechos Humanos en Perspectiva Historica, Cizur Menor, Civitas, 2014. Gonzalez-Salzberg, D.A., and L. Hodson (eds.), Research Methods for International Human Rights Law: Beyond the Traditional Paradigm, Abingdon, Oxon, Routledge, 2020.
- Haas, M., International Human Rights: A Comprehensive Introduction, London, Routledge, 2014.
- Have, Nienke van der, The Prevention of Gross Human Rights Violations Under International Human Rights Law, The Hague, Asser Press, 2018.
- Hopgood, S. (et al.) (eds.), Human Rights Futures, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2017.
- Joseph, S. and A. McBeth, Research Handbook on International Human Rights Law, Cheltenham, Elgar, 2010.
- Kälin, W. und J. Künzli, Universeller Menschenrechtsschutz: der Schutz des Individuums auf Globaler und Regionaler Ebene, Basel/Baden-Baden, Helbing Lichtenhahn Verlag/Nomos Verlag, 2013.
- Kälin, W., and J. Künzli, The Law of International Human Rights Protection, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2019.
- Kolb, R. and G.Gaggioli (eds.), Research Handbook on Human Rights and Humanitarian Law, Cheltenham, Edward Elgar, 2013.
- McBeth, A. (et al.), The International Law of Human Rights, South Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Oxford University Press, 2017.
- Moeckli, D., S. Shah and S. Sivakumaran (eds.) International Human Rights Law, Fourth Edition, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2022.
- Moeckli, D. (eds.) (et al.), The Human Rights Covenants at 50 : Their Past, Present, and Future, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2018.
- Pace, J.P., The United Nations Commission on Human Rights : 'A Very Great Enterprise', Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2020. [E-book].
- Pisillo Mazzeschi, R., International Human Rights Law: Theory and Practice, Cham, Springer, 2021.
- Rainey, B., Human Rights Law, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2017.
- Rehman, J., International Human Rights Law, Harlow, Pearson, 2010.
- Smith, R.K.M., Textbook on International Human Rights, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2018.
- Smith, R.K.M., International Human Rights Law, Ninth Edition, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2020.
- Sudre, F. (et al.), Droit Europeén et International des Droits de l'Homme, Paris, Presses universitaires de France, 2019.
- Tiedemann, P., Philosophical Foundation of Human Rights, Cham, Springer, 2020. [E-book].
- Trindade, Antônio Augusto Cançado, and Damian A. Gonzalez-Salzberg. International Law of Human Rights. Oxford University Press, 2024.
- United Nations. Human Rights Office of the High Commissioner, Handbook for Human Rights Treaty Body Members, Geneva, United Nations Human Rights Office of the High Commissioner, 2015.
- Weissbrodt, D.S., J. Martin and F.C. Newman, International Human Rights: Law, Policy, and Process. Fifth edition, Carolina Academic Press, 2021.
- Weissbrodt, D., F.D. Ní Aoláin and M. Rumsey (ed.), Library of Essays on International Human Rights, Volume I: The Development of International Human Rights Law, Farnham /Surrey, Ashgate, 2014.
Recent books and peer-reviewed articles
- Cantú Rivera, Humberto Fernando, editor. The Universal Declaration of Human Rights : A Commentary. Brill Nijhoff, 2024.
- Etone, D., The Human Rights Council. The Impact of the Universal Periodic Review in Africa, Abingdon, Routledge, 2020.
- Grohmann, N.-H., Strengthening the UN Human Rights Treaty Bodies: An Analysis of the Committees’ Legal Powers and Possibilities for Reform, Tübingen, Mohr Siebeck, 2024.
- Gonzalez-Salzberg, D.A. and L. Hodson (eds.), Research Methods for International Human Rights Law : Beyond the Traditional Paradigm, Abingdon, Oxon; New York, NY, Routledge, 2020.
- Johansen, S.Ø., The Human Rights Accountability Mechanisms of International Organizations, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2020.
- Kaltenborn, M., Krajewski, M., Kuhn, H., Sustainable Development Goals and Human Rights, Cham, Springer Open, 2020.
- Kamm, C., EMRK und Gewaltenteilung: Menschenrechtliche Vorgaben an das Organisationsrecht der Konventionsstaaten, Berlin, Duncker & Humblot, 2023.
- Mahmoudi, H., and M.L. Penn (eds.), Human Dignity and Human Rights, Bingley, UK, Emerald Publishing Limited, 2020.
- Mallory, C., Human Rights Imperialists : The Extraterritorial Application of the European Convention on Human Rights, Oxford, Hart, 2020.
- Mégret, F. and P. Alston (Eds.),The United Nations and Human Rights. A Critical Appraisal, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2020.
- Tistounet, E., The UN Human Rights Council. A Practical Anatomy, Cheltenham, Elgar, 2020.
- Zuber, V. (et al.) (dir.), Histoire et postérité de la Déclaration universelle des droits de l'Homme. Nouvelles approches, Rennes, Presses Universitaires de Rennes, 2022.
For all peer-reviewed articles in the PPL Catalogue, click here.
Periodicals and series
- African Human Rights Law Journal
- All-European Human Rights Yearbook
- Anuario de derechos humanos
- The Asian Yearbook of Human Rights and Humanitarian Law
- Asia-Pacific Journal on Human Rights and the Law
- Australian Journal of Human Rights
- Buffalo Human Rights Law Review
- Canadian Human Rights Yearbook
- Columbia Human Rights Law Review
- East African Journal of Human Rights & Democracy
- East African Journal of Peace & Human Rights
- Elgar Studies in Human Rights
- European Human Rights Law Review
- European Human Rights Reports
- European Yearbook of Human Rights
- Harvard Human Rights Journal
- Harvard Human Rights Yearbook
- Helsinki Monitor
- Human Rights = Menschenrechte = Droits de l'homme = Anthrōpina dikaiōmata
- Human Rights : A Basic Handbook for UN Staff
- Human Rights : A Quarterly Review of the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights = Droits de l'Homme : Revue Trimestrielle du Haut Commissariat des Nations Unies aux Droits de l'Homme
- Human Rights Brief
- Human Rights Case Digest
- Human rights: Contemporary Issues and Perspectives
- Human Rights Defender
- Human Rights & Globalization Law Review
- Human Rights and International Law
- Human Rights in Development: Yearbook
- Human Rights in Law Enforcement
- Human Rights & International Legal Discourse
- Human Rights : Journal of the Section of Individual Rights & Responsibilities
- Human Rights Law Journal
- Human Rights Law Review (Columbia University)
- Human Rights Law Review (University of Nottingham)
- Human Rights Law in Africa
- Human Rights Quarterly
- Human Rights Review (University College, London)
- Human Rights in Development Yearbook
- Human Rights Watch World Report
- Human Rights Yearbook
- Inter-American and European Human Rights Journal
- Inter-American Yearbook on Human Rights
- Intercultural Human Rights Law Review
- International Human Rights Law Review
- Interdisciplinary Journal of Human Rights Law
- International Journal of Children's Rights
- The International Journal of Human Rights
- International Journal on Group Rights
- Journal Europeen des Droits de l'Homme
- Journal of Human Rights Practice
- The Journal of Southeast Asian Human Rights
- MenschenRechtsMagazin
- Muslim World Journal of Human Rights
- Netherlands Quarterly of Human Rights
- New York Law School Journal of Human Rights
- Nordic Journal of Human Rights
- Nortwestern University Journal of International Human Rights
- Religion & Human Rights
- Revista do Instituto Brasileiro de Direitos Humanos
- Revista Internacional de Derechos Humanos: RIDH
- Revue des Droits de l'Homme : Droit International et Droit Comparé = Human Rights Journal : International and Comparative Law
- Revue Trimestrielle des Droits de l'Homme
- Routledge Studies in Human Rights
- Security and Human Rights
- South African Journal on Human Rights
- South African Human Rights Yearbook
- SUR - International Journal on Human Rights
- Temple Political & Civil Rights Law Review
- Texas Forum on Civil Liberties & Civil Rights
- Universal Human Rights
- University of Oxford Human Rights Hub Journal
- Washington and Lee Journal of Civil Rights and Social Justice
- William and Mary Bill of Rights Journal
- Women's Rights Law Reporter
- Yale Human Rights and Development Law Journal
- Yearbook on Human Rights
- Zeitschrift fur Menschenrechte
Bibliographies
DATABASES
- Max Planck Ency clopedia of Public International Law, Special Rapporteurs of Human Rights Bodies, by Antje C. Berger.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Human Rights, United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (UNHCHR), by Ineke Boerefijn.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Vienna World Conference on Human Rights (1993), by Ineke Boerefijn.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Human Rights, by Thomas Buergenthal.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Universal Declaration of Human Rights (1948), by Hilary Charlesworth.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Women, Rights of, International Protection, by Christine Chinkin.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Gross and Systematic Human Rights Violations, by Lori F Damrosch.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law, Election of Judges: European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR), by Andrew Drzemczewski.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Grand Chamber: European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR), by Andrew Drzemczewski, Erik Fribergh.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, American Declaration of the Rights and Duties of Man (1948), by Claudio M Grossman.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Human Rights, Role of Non-Governmental Organizations, by Stephan Hobe.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Committees: Human Rights Bodies, by Sarah Joseph.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Human Rights and Humanitarian Law, by Robert Kolb.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Human Rights, State Reports, by David Kretzmer.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Execution of Judgment: European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR), by Elisabeth Lambert.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Fact-Finding: European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR), by Philip Leach.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (ACommHPR), by Rachel Murray.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Inter-American Court of Human Rights (IACtHR), by Gerald L Neuman.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, American Convention on Human Rights (1969), by Gerald L Neuman.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Special Procedures: Human Rights Council, by Mónica Pinto.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (1981), by Fatsah Ouguergouz.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (1966) , by Eibe Riedel.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Sharia Reservations to Human Rights Treaties, by Nora Salem
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Human Rights, Remedies, by Dinah Shelton.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Human Rights, Individual Communications/Complaints, Dinah Shelton.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Human Rights, Domestic Implementation, Gerald Staberock.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Human Rights, Treaty Bodies, Peter-Tobias Stoll.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Human Rights Committee, by Christian Tomuschat.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law, Universal Periodic Review Procedure: Human Rights Council, by Christian Tomuschat.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (1966), by Christian Tomuschat.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, United Nations, Sub-Commission on the Promotion and Protection of Human Rights, David Weissbrodt.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Human Rights, Treaties, Extraterritorial Application and Effects, by Nicola Wenzel.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Group Rights, by Nicola Wenzel.
- Oxford Reports, International Human Rights Law. The Oxford Reports on International Human Rights Law covers international decisions on human rights from a variety of global and regional courts. The Human Rights Law Centre at Nottingham University has selected those cases which are most important for gaining an understanding of the rights and freedoms guaranteed under the European Convention on Human Rights. IHRL will provide a comprehensive coverage of the key issues determined by the European Commission and Court to date. Cases selected include all plenary and grand chamber judgments at the admissibility and merits stage of proceedings, as well as other decisions and judgments of significance for their contribution to the development of the case law of the European Convention. This module will include approximately 500 decisions from year 1961 to 2007, and thereafter 150 per year (out of 900-1000 decisions per year).
- United Nations Audiovisual Library of International Law, Human Rights Lecture Series. The Lecture Series contains a permanent collection of lectures of enduring value on virtually every subject of international law given by leading international law scholars and practitioners from different regions, legal systems, cultures and sectors of the legal profession. The lectures are organized by subject matter, under the headings on the left of the page. Additional information about the lecturer and, when available, a brief description of the lecture, as well as related materials (lecture outline, presentation slides, references, recommended readings, etc.) can be accessed by clicking the “read more” link underneath the lecture titles.
EXTERNAL LINKS
- Guide To Researching International Human Rights Law - International Justice Resource CenterHuman Rights Research - 2008
- Icelandic Human Rights Centre: Human Rights Education Project. The Human Rights Education Project provides, in a convenient, accessible form, a comprehensive overview of the main topics
- International Human Rights - Electronic Information System For International Law by The American Society of International Law (ASIL) and documents relevant to international human rights protection.
- International Human Rights - Electronic Research Guide, by Marci Hoffman
- International Human Rights Research Guide, by Grace M. Mills - 2007
- Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights
- Rights (a platform on human rights and democratisation)
- UN Human Rights Council
Preservation
- Columbia University Libraries’ Human Rights Web Archive. The Human Rights Web Archive is an effort to preserve and ensure access to freely available human rights resources created mainly by non-governmental organizations, national human rights institutions, and individuals.
See also
INTERNAL LINKS