Air Law

Abstract

International air law covers all the aspects of (public and private) international law with regard to airspace and air transport, the sources of international air law, the international organizations involved (ICAO) and international conventions such as the Chicago Convention 1944 and the Montreal Convention 1999. International air law deals with many topics, such as transport responsibility, safety of passengers, airplanes and luggage, airport-regulations, hijacking, air pollution, and aerial warfare.

Text

The spectacular fast developments in aircraft technology in the beginning of the 20th century, made law-making necessary in this new field of transportation, in peace and in war. In 1910 the first conference on an international air law code took place in Paris. International air law now deals with many topics, such transport responsibility, safety of passengers, airplanes and luggage, airport-regulations, hijacking, air pollution, and aerial warfare. The collection of international air law in the Peace Palace Library covers all the aspects of this (public and private) international law subject, including the historical part, the sources of international air law, the international organizations involved and the numerous international conventions: the Warsaw Convention 1929, the Montreal Convention 1999 and the Chicago Convention 1944 (one of the most ratified multilateral agreements currently in force, with 193 States Parties).

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research in the field of International Air Law. It provides the basic materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library's subject heading (keyword) Air Law is instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

Librarian’s choice
Bibliography manually

Sources of International Law

Treaties

Collections and commentaries of treaties of international air law

Case-law

UN Declarations and Resolutions

Soft law

Reference works

Selected books and articles

Periodicals, serial publications

Bibliographies