European Union, European Communities

Research guide
Other|European flags in Brussels-Beyond the Westphalian Paradigm|Peace Palace Library
The European Union is a political and economic union of 27 member states that are located primarily in Europe. It has an area of 4,475,757 km2 (1,728,099 sq mi), and an estimated population of over 510 million.